Author Topic: New to collecting Original movie posters  (Read 17144 times)

bvick

New to collecting Original movie posters
« on: March 16, 2014, 05:38:52 PM »
Hey everyone. I'm new to the movie poster world. I recently acquired a huge lot of movie posters form a theater. They range in date from 1992-2013, however some of the better posters were sold or removed before my acquisition. I have several that I am keeping for my collection but I have no idea how to value or sell these posters. I have seen prices on Amazon, EBay, and sites like movie posters.com. Any tips in these areas would be greatly appreciated. I have around 2500 posters  :o

Bruce

Re: New to collecting Original movie posters
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2014, 05:44:35 PM »
Please DON'T send them to us! The past year has seen us receive two gigantic lots like this (9,000 and 6,000) and they are giant money losers for us, even with us taking 75% on $1 to $7 items and 66% on $8 to $12 items, and even with auctioning most of them in bulk lots.

I am told there are people who will do all the work and auction them for you for UNDER the rates we charge (as listed above). When you find out who those people are, please let me know so I can start sending everyone like you to them.

I wish you the best of luck with these.

P.S. The WORST thing you can do is start photographing everything and making exhaustive lists, including style info and measurements. That would likely take hundreds of hours, and you won't even get minimum wage for that effort (even with the new improved $10 or $15 minimum wage).
« Last Edit: March 16, 2014, 05:49:18 PM by eMoviePoster.com »

bvick

« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2014, 06:03:07 PM »