Author Topic: Buying Legitimate Posters - Based in the UK  (Read 4301 times)

Offline CinematicFanatic

• Beginner
Buying Legitimate Posters - Based in the UK
« on: January 14, 2021, 11:55:53 AM »
First of all, hello everyone!

This is my first post and I am just starting out in the hunt for some original, authentic posters so it will take a little while for me to get up to speed with everything I need to be looking out for.

Is anyone else here based in the UK?

I would like to eventually purchase the original, authentic Goodfellas poster, is this something that is possible in the UK?

From my brief time looking into this, all I have found is that 99% of Official Authentic posters are based in the US.

If anyone else here is based in the UK I would appreciate hearing how you purchase your posters?

Thanks

Online Tob

• Administrator
  • Hoarder
Re: Buying Legitimate Posters - Based in the UK
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2021, 01:06:02 PM »
Hi CinemaFanatic,

Welcome! There are a few UK members here.

I think Mel’s site gives quite a nice starting point to buying: http://www.moviepostercollectors.guide/Buying_Guide.html

If you’re in no rush, patience really pays off in this hobby - it’s quite easy to overpay when you’re new and finding your feet (which is fine if you can afford it).

With the price of international postage quite high (and the new rules regarding all items being charged 20% VAT), a good tactic can be to find sellers who offer a few posters that you’re after so you can fit a few into one tube. For example, Emovieposter.com offer a ‘pay and hold’ service, which means they’ll hold all your auction wins over a 12 week period, which I find very useful.

Don’t forget that we also have authentic cinema posters here in the UK! They are landscape orientation, measure 40x30” and are known as Quads.

Offline CinematicFanatic

• Beginner
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2021, 05:40:11 AM »
Thanks for the reply.