Author Topic: Are alleged “extreme rip-off” movie poster sales unenforceable under U.S. law?  (Read 5420 times)

guest4955

+ Preliminarily, I’m a retired-for-now attorney but still have a valid/current “inactive” license to practice law in Amazonia, er, the District of Columbia. From 1996-2015, I primarily practiced in employment/labor/human resources law, equally split between advising managers/HR and litigation, including 20(ish) non-jury trials and arbitration proceedings. For reasons too complex to go into, the employment law defense side has tremendous advantages and I/we “won” 95% of the time considering outright dismissal and cheap settlements..

+So I rarely ventured into “contract law” and flat-out lost the one “business contract” arbitration I co-handled with my attorney father back in 2005. (We were robbed! And our client was bonkers to boot!) But I liked and remember to this day much of the Uniform Commercial Code, which all U.S. states have adopted as verbatim law.

+ You “theoretically” can file a lawsuit seeking to revoke/render unenforceable on the grounds of unconscionability any contract. I’ll quote from a 2008 article:

“The unconscionability doctrine is premised on the idea that the law should be fair and should not allow people to be taken advantage of. Unconscionability is used as a shield and not a sword, meaning that it is a defense to liability, not a cause of action for damages or other affirmative relief. While it clearly has its place in modern commerce, the doctrine is both vague and hard to establish. As a result, it should be asserted strategically. The doctrine of unconscionability, codified in Section 2-302 of the U.C.C., permits courts to invalidate whole contracts, or particular provisions in contracts, they find fundamentally unfair. The section provides that: