Author Topic: Found Poster  (Read 294 times)

Offline jamesw146

• Beginner
Found Poster
« on: March 08, 2024, 05:55:38 PM »
Hi
I am new to this form, not a poster collector, pretty do not know anything about posters
I the early "90" while cleaning out my Grandfathers farm house, can across a poster. It was rolled up, I put in a mailing tube and forgot about it
Can across it the other day and I was wondering who it was, maybe what year it was made and is it worth anything.  I was told by someone at the time it was Norma Jean Baker, but I can not tell  It's about 18" by 5'
any information is appreciated
Thanks
W James

Online Neo

• Hoarder
    • My photobucket
Re: Found Poster
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2024, 02:44:21 PM »
 welcome1 James,

Nice one.  Looks like Marilyn Monroe.  Also looks like it's in decent condition for its age.  The lower area, and maybe other areas appear to have some foxing - browning of the paper due to the acidity of it and sometimes from humidity/storage issues.  That could be stabilized with a little conservation, and if one wanted to make it appear like new with restoration.

Another one on eBay states it's from 1953, and they have it listed at $1,500. https://www.ebay.com/itm/303533122784

It's cool that it was your grandfather's.  The printing quality looks good and I'm sure that not too many of them are still around after all those years.  Good luck with whatever you decide to do with it.

Offline Crazy Vick

• Hoarder
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2024, 10:52:26 PM »
Emovieposter has it listed as a commercial MM red style.  Should be 22x62 so yours may be trimmed.

Based on past sales, in this condition your copy I gather is worth about 100 -150.  Cool poster.

Online Neo

• Hoarder
    • My photobucket
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2024, 11:30:27 PM »
Good call, Vick.  I quickly searched and found the one on eBay.