Common Poster Subjects > Photography & Digital Imagery

Show us your photography setup!

(1/6) > >>

Harry Caul:
I was recently inspired by Ed's fantastic new poster site (www.filmonpaper.com) and I decided to start properly documenting my collection.  I wanted the photos to both be both displayable for a future website (although nothing as fancy as Ed's) and to be useable in case of future sale.

For a photo setup, I first looked to eMovieposters' behind the scenes photo.  I'm an amateur photog so I already have a usable camera and eye-fi card to wirelessly send the pics to my computer.  However, I'm more of a street photographer and I don't even own a single flash.  If I were to buy all the flashes, tripods, beauty dishes, wireless triggers, etc... that eMovie employs I would probably be out $750-$1000.  I'm much too cheap for that and I would rather spend that money on posters, so I set about trying to replicate their setup as cheaply as possible.  I also wanted something that would take up very little space when not in use. 

So I channeled my inner MacGyver and was off to Lowes... 

I decided on Halogen lamps pretty early as they were so cheap (although the bulbs aren't as I later found out).  For diffusers, I came up with a couple potential options but ended up with some cheap drop ceiling panels for diffusing fluorescent tube lights.  To get them to stand up vertically (I couldn't do a wall setup like Bruce), I ruled out clamps and stands and other such things as they were too expensive.  I ended up in plumbing, thinking I would build some sort of PVC frame, but eventually thought I might get by with a couple T-pipes that I manually cut along one side.  I also bought some big metal work rulers to frame the poster and document the dimensions.

4 250 watt halogen work lamps $15/each
4 Drop ceiling light diffusers $5/each
8 Plumbing T-pipes $1/each
2 Power strips $8/each
2 6' metal rulers $10/each