Author Topic: Casablanca 1947 Belgian  (Read 5618 times)

Offline Undead

• Hoarder
    • Undead.net
Casablanca 1947 Belgian
« on: August 09, 2018, 10:00:30 AM »
I know the answer after carefully reviewing but wanted to make 100% sure with the aid of some of the various experts around here. I guess, In short I know it is fake but really really wanted it to be real so looking for confirmation.

I recently purchased what was supposed to be an original trimmed 1947 Belgian Casablanca. Pics looked good overall but after receiving it some red flags went up immediately.

The first being that the red had bled so the white edges around the title have a pinkish hew to them, it is mounted and am assuming that is when the bleeding occurred.  The types of inks used on these should not bleed but as I am not an expert on this particular vintage from that area cannot say 100% for sure.

Skipping immediately to a major red flag for me and one of the first things I look at when verifying. The printer info in the bottom border is not crisp and sharp as I would expect and looks very much like inkjet instead with some extra dots of color in the vicinity. As I again am not an expert on this time frame and location wanted to make sue that it should be clear and sharp with none of the blotchy edges like this shows. There are other spots int he image that look like it is inkjet as well as you can see below.

There are other flags as well but I think these are enough to verify that it is indeed a forgery.

Thoughts greatly appreciated.

« Last Edit: August 09, 2018, 10:03:51 AM by Undead »
Undead.net Coming Soon...ish to a nightmare near you!
Just bleach the bitch!

Offline okiehawker

• Hoarder
Re: Casablanca 1947 Belgian
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2018, 10:11:29 PM »
Could it just be out of print registration?  Not saying it's not a fake, though.  Okie

Offline erik1925

• Post-aholic
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2018, 10:39:13 PM »