Author Topic: Heritage Auctions - any first time bidder tips?  (Read 6115 times)

Online skyjackers

• Hoarder
Heritage Auctions - any first time bidder tips?
« on: June 02, 2018, 12:12:34 PM »
I've found something I've been chasing for a long time on Heritage and want to bid on it. I've never used Heritage before because it seemed over complicated but I don't want to miss out on this one.

So I wondered if there were any tips for using their site / bidding strategies?

Any advice greatly appreciated!

Offline Harry Caul

• Curator
    • Marquee Poster
Re: Heritage Auctions - any first time bidder tips?
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2018, 03:49:58 PM »
It’s easy. As with most auction houses, just make sure to factor in the buyers premium when determining your max bid. I use gavelsnipe to schedule my HA bids. But keep in mind it’s different from sniping on eBay — other bidders will still have the opportunity to counter.

Good luck!

Offline jayn_j

• Hoarder
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2018, 07:26:34 PM »
As Matt said, be aware of the finer details of the buyer's premium.  Also, if there is a live session for your item, be sure and register for live bidding.  This occurs after proxy bidding has completed and is more like a traditional auction.  However, 3 times out of 4, the proxy bid is sufficient unless your item is one of those highly sought after ones.

I don't bother with gavelsnipe.  The only advantage is that your bid gets put in late.
-Jay-

Offline okiehawker

• Hoarder
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2018, 12:34:11 AM »
As Matt said, be aware of the finer details of the buyer's premium.  Also, if there is a live session for your item, be sure and register for live bidding.  This occurs after proxy bidding has completed and is more like a traditional auction.  However, 3 times out of 4, the proxy bid is sufficient unless your item is one of those highly sought after ones.

I don't bother with gavelsnipe.  The only advantage is that your bid gets put in late.