Author Topic: August 2018  (Read 11352 times)

Offline DekeThornton

• Collector
August 2018
« on: August 18, 2018, 01:53:30 AM »
Hello poster friends! It's been quite a while since I've posted, though I've still been lurking.

Anyway, I finally scored one of my "unicorns" I had been keeping an eye out for several years.

"Mexico por la libertad", a 1942 Mexican WWII propaganda poster by the artist Jose Bribiesca.

A former forum member also posted one of these a couple years back. It wasn't for sale then (I asked).  This is a different copy.

This isn't something I plan to put on the wall since the swastika is so prominent, but I do love the image of the Mexican eagle rending the Nazi flag:

« Last Edit: August 18, 2018, 02:59:59 AM by DekeThornton »

Offline DekeThornton

• Collector
Re: August 2018
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2018, 02:07:39 AM »
Another WWII propaganda poster.

This one was produced for the Office of the Coordinator of Inter-American Affairs to help keep Latin America on the side of the Allies.

The Museum of Modern Art in NY sponsored a poster contest, and this was the winning entry. Amazingly, I found this press release from 1942 on the MOMA website with all the details of the contest!
https://www.moma.org/momaorg/shared/pdfs/docs/press_archives/831/releases/MOMA_1942_0073_1942-10-19_421019-67.pdf

Offline DekeThornton

• Collector
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2018, 02:59:04 AM »
And yet another published by the Office of the Coordinator of Inter-American Affairs

The artwork is by Walter Beach Humphrey, a member of the New Rochelle artist colony that also included Norman Rockwell.

Interestingly, I have not found any other reference to this poster on the internet. Which is strange, because I can't imagine why it would be rarer than any of the other posters distributed by the OCIAA/OIAA.

Anyway, it is in my opinion a kick-ass poster!