Author Topic: Newbie advice storage advice.  (Read 16408 times)

boxdog

Newbie advice storage advice.
« on: March 09, 2017, 06:31:50 AM »
Hi folks, im new to knowing how to protect my items.i have some spanish lobby cards,more paper than card and there 14"x 10". Any advice for best way to protect them.They wont be wall mounted but will be taken out to look at. Any advice on what and where i purchase something?im in u.k.thanks alot.paul

Offline jayn_j

• Hoarder
Re: Newbie advice storage advice.
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2017, 08:35:49 AM »
Hi Boxdog, and welcome to the forum.  Actually, I have several answers, depending on your goals.

I keep my lobby cards in polypropylene sleeves.  I get mine from Bags Unlimited here in the US.  I have a few recent Spanish sets, and agree that they are on thinner paper.  When I have received Spanish sets, they are generally in a poly sleeve that is fitted to the Spanish card.  On these thinner cards, I always make sure I place an acid free backing board in the sleeve with them.

I have a lot of lobbies, so I keep them in plastic storage tubs.  Get a tub that allows you to store the card vertically.  Many are not tall enough.

If you only plan on collecting a few cards, you might want to consider placing them in an album.  The Pioneer album with the 'magnetic' page inserts is what I use.
Here are some photos

The pages aren't really magnetic.  The backing material is slightly sticky, but ph balanced.  You place the poster on the backing and then smooth the acetate cover over it.  I have had posters in albums for 20 years with no damage.  I find they make nice coffee table books.

Whatever you choose, best of luck and happy collecting.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2017, 08:37:47 AM by jayn_j »
-Jay-

Offline erik1925

• Post-aholic
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2017, 12:34:51 PM »
Jay, here's hoping that the Pioneer album and its design has come a long way from this type of photo album my parents got to place family photos inside.