Author Topic: Recommendations Please for a Book on Movie Poster Artists  (Read 3902 times)

Offline mattsw

• Beginner
Recommendations Please for a Book on Movie Poster Artists
« on: February 20, 2017, 08:59:31 PM »
My apologies as I am sure this is a well covered question but I my attempts to locate old threads were unsuccessful....I am looking for recommendations on books about movie poster artists.  I am a complete novice about the artists.  My hunch is that most of you can look at a poster and realize who designed it if not by already knowing it than just by judging the style of art. 

My interest is for posters from the beginning up through the 1950's.  It can also be a subset or a decade or genre.  I have looked on Amazon and did not come up with much.  I am sure there are several good books.  Any recommendations are much appreciated.

Thanks,
Matthew

Online 50s

• Curator
  • Steve
Re: Recommendations Please for a Book on Movie Poster Artists
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2017, 09:46:03 PM »
Not sure there are many books covering artists, there are books on one artist, such as Reynold Brown. If you will consider the web as a resource, Emovieposter.com website lists heaps of artists you can select and see their work:

http://www.emovieposter.com/agallery/archive.html  (See "Artist" on left menu and click "Show More")

Offline erik1925

• Post-aholic
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2017, 12:57:34 AM »
Matt are you looking for info on US artists? foreign? Any and all?

Many of the wonderful US posters were done by artists that unknown to this day because the posters aren't signed. Many of the EU artists got it right by signing their work.

As Steve mentioned, certain artists from then and now have gained renown, both from the US and abroad, and the Heritage and emp and databases are useful tools to search and explore (as Steve also mentioned).  ;)

-Jeff

Offline mattsw

• Beginner
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2017, 07:20:00 AM »