Author Topic: Buyer's Premiums... How do they work, exactly?  (Read 5593 times)

Offline Monster_A_GoGo

• Hoarder
Buyer's Premiums... How do they work, exactly?
« on: April 01, 2015, 10:53:22 PM »
Okay... Yes, I am a newbie with a dumb question.

I understand the concept of a "Buyer's Premium" (the amount the seller gets above and beyond the auction price, right?), but I'm not sure how they work. Do the premiums keep escalating with the bid prices? That seems to be how I understand it. If there is an item out there at, say $25, with a buyer's premium of $40...If I bid $30 the BP will go to $48. Is that right?  So,in reality, you are bidding $78 instead of $30. 

How do you keep the total costs (with the BP) straight in your head and not totally outbid your budget? Jeepers!

Thanks!
Let me introduce myself: http://www.allposterforum.com/index.php/topic,9291.0.html View my collection thread (if you DARE!!!):  http://www.allposterforum.com/index.php/topic,9480.0.html  See it on my blog (withOUT Photobucket watermarks) here:  https://www.blogger.com/blogger.g?blogID=5730339618306790065#allposts/src=sidebar CHEERS!

Offline Harry Caul

• Curator
    • Marquee Poster
Re: Buyer's Premiums... How do they work, exactly?
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2015, 11:08:07 PM »
Most buyer's premiums are stated as a percentage -- usually between 10%-25%.  So to answer your question, yes, as your bid increases so does your BP.  A few places have a minimum BP.  I think Heritage's is around $20.  So pretty much anything under $100 and you are paying $20 regardless, after that it increases as percentage. 

EDIT: Never be afraid to ask questions around here!
« Last Edit: April 01, 2015, 11:11:14 PM by Harry Caul »

Offline CSM

• Post-aholic
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2015, 11:29:51 PM »
Also keep in mind the consignor does not get any of the buyer's premium - it all goes to the auction house
Chris

Offline MoviePosterBid.com

• Post-aholic
    • MoviePosterBid.com only movie memorabilia