Author Topic: A very sad day...........  (Read 10044 times)

Offline kovacs01

• Global Moderator
  • Hoarder
    • My Poster Gallery
A very sad day...........
« on: June 29, 2010, 05:37:18 AM »
So a new acquisition arrived today.  It was a poster I had been hunting for several years.  The kind that just never, ever turns up.  I found a nice minty condition example from a dealer I trusted at a price I could afford.  I get it home and as I am opening it, I notice a little sticker that says "package arrived damage".  It was a PVC tube and looking at it, I did not notice any damage.  So I get it open, and find out that it is an empty tube.  Nothing but air.  Upon inspection, there was a different tape on one end.  Someone had retaped it.  Also, there were some blurry red stamps that said "arrived without contents" that I took for customs stamps before.  Now, I have opened tubes to find damaged posters, but to have one Houdini'd completely (especially this one) is heartbreaking.

If that wasn't bad enough, I also received one today in one of those shitty flimsy "twist and pull" tubes that was crushed in the middle.  Of course, the 3 posters rolled up in the middle were damaged.  This one is a lot less significant, and for the price, I will probably let it go with just a neutral on the ole ebay feedback.  I do not have time to resolve it before I go out of town anyway......

Man, what a terrible afternoon.
Schan
Thanks.  You know what you did.
My Poster Gallery

Offline brude

• Post-aholic
Re: A very sad day...........
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2010, 06:04:36 AM »
I feel your pain, man.  Two bad experiences and piggybacked to boot.
I got an empty tube from Thailand once, complete with the same stickers you describe.  I wrote the seller and he sent me a replacement.  Take a pic of the tube w/stickers and maybe...just maybe...

Offline kovacs01

• Global Moderator
  • Hoarder
    • My Poster Gallery
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2010, 06:07:02 AM »