Author Topic: I'm a Newbie... and I Need Guidance  (Read 35613 times)

Offline Harry Caul

• Curator
    • Marquee Poster
Re: I'm a Newbie... and I Need Guidance
« Reply #25 on: September 24, 2011, 09:38:13 AM »
Here is a data sheet from Bayer on UV transmission: http://www.framersbrand.com/FBDataSheet.pdf  It shows blocking for two different brands ov Vivak and implies 100% blocking in the uV region.  The A22 blocking would extend into the visible violet region (38-450 nm) so it might mute deep purples.

That is great to know that Vivak makes an actual UV blocking material, but the A22 is not what Spotlight uses.  This is the data sheet Spotlight sent me: Vivak UV.  If you read closely, especially the paragraph at the bottom, it doesn't really mention UV protection for what you are framing up, just that the product itself is UV stabilized.  Same goes for their webpage... notice how they are actually described as UV stabilized and non UV stabilized. 

http://www.sheffieldplastics.com/vivak_family.cfm

Not saying it won't help cut some UV, but I'm not sure how much I trust it for more expensive items.  You can always just buy the Spotlight frame with vivak, but replace the front piece with some conservation plexi. 

Offline Harry Caul

• Curator
    • Marquee Poster
« Reply #26 on: September 24, 2011, 09:44:23 AM »

Sorry it didn't work out Charlie... it looks like it would have been cool!

Offline jayn_j

• Hoarder
« Reply #27 on: September 24, 2011, 01:31:24 PM »
That is great to know that Vivak makes an actual UV blocking material, but the A22 is not what Spotlight uses.  This is the data sheet Spotlight sent me: Vivak UV.  If you read closely, especially the paragraph at the bottom, it doesn't really mention UV protection for what you are framing up, just that the product itself is UV stabilized.  Same goes for their webpage... notice how they are actually described as UV stabilized and non UV stabilized. 

http://www.sheffieldplastics.com/vivak_family.cfm