All Poster Forum Also visit the All Poster Blog
May 23, 2012, 02:16:01 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: movieposter.com  (Read 570 times)
Gimpy
Curator
*****
Posts: 107


View Profile
« on: July 30, 2011, 04:57:58 AM »

I've seen information on emovieposter.com and other variations of the URL but has anyway dealt with just movieposter.com before? There are some on there that I can't find cheaper anywhere else and plus they're Canadian so if they are legit, I wouldn't mind helping out my fellow countryman!
http://ca.movieposter.com

Thanks.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2011, 04:58:38 AM by Gimpy » Logged
CJ138
Curator
*****
Posts: 569



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2011, 07:48:31 AM »

I have bought from them on three occassions and have always been happy.
Logged
Zorba
Curator
*****
Posts: 2083


Lets dance!


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2011, 08:49:46 AM »

I have bought from them on three occassions and have always been happy.

I am one for one.
Logged

Dread_Pirate_Mel
Curator
*****
Posts: 4123


I am an indiscriminate buyer....


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2011, 09:41:11 AM »

Yes, movieposter.com is fine generally.  However. I did receive a poster that was in much poorer shape than advertised and they refused to give even a partial refund, so I stopped buying from them.  According to Ed Poole of LAMP, moviestore.com is the successor of a National Screen Service branch in Toronto:

There were 4 Canadian NSS branches. They were regular warehousing branches just like most of the other US branches. 3 of the 4 only had small printing capabilities and that was to print snipes, censorship material and press material. In other words, they received their US posters like a regular NSS warehouse and applied the local censorship snipes on them for distribution. That’s why you normally see the US ratings box covered over. Only one branch had full printing capabilities.. the Montreal branch. And that was because they served a very high French public, so they printed the French versions....

The Canadian branches broke from NSS in 1990. Sol [Candel] tried to turn commercial and later made a deal with Moviegoods to liquidate their material. Sol then retired. His younger sister Shelly ran the Toronto NSS branch and has successfully turned her branch into a commercial warehouse. They go under the name movieposter.com....
Logged

treegate
Beginner
*
Posts: 16


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2011, 11:47:39 PM »

I've seen information on emovieposter.com and other variations of the URL but has anyway dealt with just movieposter.com before? There are some on there that I can't find cheaper anywhere else and plus they're Canadian so if they are legit, I wouldn't mind helping out my fellow countryman!
http://ca.movieposter.com

Thanks.

Curious what the titles are that you can't find cheaper anywhere else?
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.15 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
SMF customization services by 2by2host.com
Chat Software with Forum Hosting and and FTP Hosting powered by OLI
Forum owner/admin: Holiday Russell