Author Topic: Hello all! I'm a little new to the hobby, but looking forward to learning!  (Read 4211 times)

Offline mazeboy13

• Beginner
Hello everyone! My name's Andy.

A little bit about myself, I now live in Japan and I love collecting anime and video game related posters. I been collecting as a light hobby since I was in high school, but have only recently gotten into truly investible / collectible pieces.

Since I've had a little bit of time on my hands as of late, I've decided that I'd like to try to turn my hobby into a small business by starting a website where one can purchase authentic anime and video game related posters, especially those that are "not for sale" or only available here in Japan. Nothing serious, just on the side, at least for the time being.

So recently I've been purchasing posters that I hope to make available to others in the near future and have come to the point where I need to put some serious effort into authentication, knowing that there are so many fakes out there. 

In my pursuit of this, I found this forum. I've already learned A LOT from the collective knowledge of this place, especially the authentication thread, and hope that I might be able to ask some questions and share information with everyone here!

Also, if anyone is looking for something in Japan, or just has some questions about it, please let me know! I'd be happy to have the opportunity to learn a little bit more in the process!

Glad to be here!

Online Tob

• Administrator
  • Hoarder
Hi Andy! Welcome to the forum!  welcome1

Do you have a link to your website? Or still in the build phase?

I like some of the art on Japanese video game posters (particularly the Street Fighter series and anything by Hideo Kojima), but stopped short of buying any in the past as I spend enough on film posters as it is! Have you seen any posters for 'Last of Us' or 'Last of Us Part 2'? I saw Kojima did some art for Part 2, but it looks like it was digital only.

Offline mazeboy13