Author Topic: Hello APF  (Read 3775 times)

BigBen75

Hello APF
« on: August 23, 2016, 11:00:19 AM »
I should introduce myself.  I've made a few posts but I didn't think to post here.

I'm Ben.  I'm 40, married to a great woman for 8 years now, we have two little girls, 6 & 4.  I live in the dead zone between Buffalo, NY and Niagara Falls, NY.  We recently adopted a kitty as the family pet.  I've also kept fish for a number of years.

I'm a mechanical designer by day, which basically means I do the job of a mechanical engineer and draftsman all day.  It's an OK gig.

I collect mostly new and recent releases, heavy on the Marvel & DC Universe.  I also collect theater mylars, that's more of a side project when I'm bored and have a few extra dollars.

Not quite three years ago, I suffered an idiopathic sudden cardiac arrest.  Meaning my heart stopped and I dropped dead at my desk during work on a monday morning and no one can tell me why.  I was 'dead' for just about three minutes before being shocked with an AED.  I spent 9 days in the hospital, four of them in a coma.  After 11 weeks at home, I was able to return to work with a defibrillator implanted in my chest.  Occasionally, I have brain lapses that cause me to forget how to spell things, omit words in sentences or change train of thought in mid sentence.  I catch most of them, but they slip by sometimes.

I've enjoyed seeing everyone's collections so far!

Offline Crazy Vick

• Hoarder
Re: Hello APF
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2016, 12:00:02 PM »
Welcome!  With 2 daughters of my own I can imagine the impact of such a scare...  Glad to have you with us! 
With Steve and Chris back now, the community is accustomed to brain lapses, omissions, etc, so no worries on that front  thumbsup.gif

Online 50s

• Curator
  • Steve
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2016, 04:15:13 PM »
Geez that sux Chris, I hope you find your missing posters

Offline Monster_A_GoGo

• Hoarder
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2016, 11:52:14 PM »